Recipe: Banana Muffins

IMG_6707.jpg

I finally found a great plant-based banana muffin recipe to make with my ugly bananas. I wish there was a recipe to salvage any food that’s started to go bad, but sadly, it’s pretty much only bananas.

IMG_6699.jpg

This recipe has nutmeg in it for a bit of spice, and I also like sprinkling cinnamon and sugar on these before I bake them for that delicious, crunchy crust.

IMG_6700.jpg

These muffins are fluffy and soft on the inside and a little crispy on the outside. My family gobbled them up in the first two days we had them. I think they taste the best on the first day, but are still a pretty good breakfast on the second or third day. I’ve already made them three times!

IMG_6712.jpg

Now I know what I’ll most likely be doing with my next batch of overly-speckled bananas.


This recipe is adapted from Hell Yeah It’s Vegan’s banana bread recipe.

1/4 c. nondairy milk (unsweetened)

1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar

1/2 c. vegan butter

1 c. brown sugar

3 very ripe bananas (mashed)

1 tsp. vanilla

1 1/2 c. flour

1/2 c. whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/4 tsp. salt

1 c. chocolate chips (optional but delicious)


Mix milk and vinegar and set aside. In another (large) bowl, beat together butter and sugar. Add bananas and vanilla. Next, add in all dry ingredients, and stir until combined. Finally, stir in the chocolate chips. Pour into muffin tins and bake at 350 degrees (F) for about 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown on top. Enjoy!

 

All the best,

Spencer

Leave a Reply

