Recipe: Summer Berry Crumble

IMG_6692.jpg

It is really feeling like summer here in Southern California! It’s that kind of weather where it feels like you’re walking into the stream of a hair dryer when you step outside. I can’t say I love the heat, but I am excited about summer. To be extra festive for the fourth of July this year, I wanted to make a patriotic looking baked fruit crumble with red and blue berries. 

IMG_6684.jpg

This is a very simple recipe that I think I could use with all different kinds of fruit in the future.

IMG_6686.jpg

This crumble was a hit at the family gathering I brought it to! It definitely tastes like summer. We ate it at room temperature and it was really good, but I think it would also be great served warm with ice cream or whipped coconut cream.

IMG_6687.jpg

I definitely want to make this recipe with apples in the fall. Preferably ones I picked from an orchard that also has pumpkins. I think I’m getting ahead of myself. I should keep enjoying summer before making fall plans. Maybe I need a beach day.

IMG_6688.jpg

This didn’t last us more than one day, so I don’t know how it keeps, but I have a feeling it’s the kind of dessert that is best on day one.

IMG_6694.jpg

This recipe is adapted from Texanerin’s blueberry crisp recipe.

for the topping:

1/2 c. flour

1/2 c. oats

1/4 c. sugar

1/8 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

4 tbsp. coconut oil

for the filling:

1 small package blackberries

1 large package strawberries, quartered

3 tbsp. maple syrup

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 tsp. cornstarch

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

pinch salt


Mix together all ingredients for topping and set aside. Mix together all filling ingredients besides the fruit. Add in fruit and stir until all fruit is coated. Pour fruit mixture into a square glass pan (mine is 8×8″). Pour topping mixture over the top, in an even layer. Bake at 350 degrees (F) for about 30 minutes, or until bubbling. Serve warm, with ice cream, or on it’s own. Enjoy!

 

All the best,

Spencer

Leave a Reply

