Recipe: Sweet + Spicy Cauliflower with Chickpeas

DSC03644.jpg

I’ve never cooked with cauliflower before. Can you believe it? I’ve eaten cauliflower that other people have cooked, but I never thought to make it myself. I plan to cook with it more in the future because I loved how this recipe turned out. Only slightly spicy, with a lot of sweet and garlicky flavor. It had a real “comfort food” feel that I wasn’t expecting.

DSC03638.jpg

This recipe was also very quick and easy to make! It was sort of one of those throw-together-everything-in-your-fridge meals that worked out stupendously.

DSC03630.jpg

I made rice to serve this over, and it was a delicious combination. The rice soaked up some of the sauce from the cauliflower and chickpeas in that takeout way that I love.

DSC03640.jpg

It also kept well in the fridge overnight for lunch the next day. Definitely adding this to my dinner rotation!


1 head of cauliflower

1 can chickpeas

1 clove of garlic, minced

2 tbsp. maple syrup

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 tbsp. soy sauce

1 tsp. chili garlic sauce

salt + pepper to taste


Chop florets off cauliflower. Drain and rinse chickpeas. Mix together garlic, maple syrup, olive oil, soy sauce, chili garlic sauce, salt, and pepper. Stir in cauliflower florets and chickpeas. Pour the whole mixture into a glass pan. Bake at 400 degrees (F) for about 30 minutes, or until slightly browned. Serve with rice. Yum!

 

All the best,

Spencer

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Sweet + Spicy Cauliflower with Chickpeas

Leave a Reply

