three favorites: June 2017

IMG_5230.jpg

[1] giving myself permission to chill out

For the month of June, I made a goal to actively practice self-love. It was so great. I was super nice to myself, cooking myself delicious meals and giving myself lots of compliments. One thing I did that felt like a good self-care choice was being quick to forgive myself when I felt like I needed a nap or to just hang out and not be productive for a bit. Rather than doing nothing and feeling guilty for not doing something, I just allowed myself to do nothing sometimes, so I could recharge. I think forgiving yourself for needing things like rest or chocolate or a mental health day is extremely important. If you’re feeling down, there is no need to make yourself feel bad about feeling down. Just let yourself chill out for a little, and don’t feel bad about it, even if you have a long to-do list. I think it might even lead to increased productivity once you’re feeling a little better.

IMG_6537 (1).jpg

[2] drawing

I drew this picture of my grandparents on their wedding day to give them for their 69th wedding anniversary. Isn’t that such a crazy number of years to be married to someone? Anyway, I used to make pencil drawings like this all the time when I was in high school. After attending an art and design college for 4 years, I think I’ve strayed from this kind of drawing that made me love art in the first place. I really enjoyed drawing this portrait and have been trying to do some more pencil drawing lately. It feels good to draw with no purpose other than to enjoy it. I’m not doing it to improve my portfolio or develop a unique style, but just to be creative and have some fun.

IMG_6595.jpg

[3] catching up with my oldest friend, Henri

This June, my friend Henri stayed with Sean and me for a bit. Henri and I have been friends for almost 10 years, and we’re both about 24, so that’s a really big portion of our lives. It was kind of astounding to realize how long we’ve known each other, because I don’t really have other close friends who I’ve known for so long. I was so happy to get to spend time together and reminisce about some memories I haven’t thought of in forever. I thought it was exciting to look back and realize how far we’ve both come in our lives, and to think of how far we’ll go in the years to come.

What were some of your favorite things this June?

 

Until next time,

Spencer

Leave a Reply

