Vegan Camping Food

IMG_6283.jpg

Sean and I just got back from a really fun two-night camping trip. We packed simple foods that we could either eat cold or cook over a campfire, and I felt like we brought just what we needed. For dinners both nights, I made vegan hot dogs with ketchup and tomatoes. I don’t tend to buy vegan “meat” products, but it felt festive for camping. I was glad to have a little fresh produce withΒ my dinner after mostly dried fruit for snacks.

IMG_6218.jpg

It wouldn’t be camping without s’mores now, would it? We were able to find vegan chocolate and graham crackers at our regular grocery store, but we could only find gelatin-free marshmallows at Whole Foods.

For lunch, we made peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, which packed well for our long hike. We also brought apples and bananas. For snacks, we brought walnuts, pumpkin seeds, and dried dates. Sean and I both agreed that our lunches tasted ten times better on top of a mountain than at a kitchen table.

IMG_6289.jpg

We also bought this pack of vegan banana bran muffins at Whole Foods to have for breakfasts. In the future, I want to bake my own muffins for a camping trip, but the whole trip was a little last minute.

IMG_6285.jpg

I think I wantΒ to look into getting a camp stove if we’re going to be camping more because I will admit that I’m not great at cooking food on a stick in a campfire. Somehow I ended up with simultaneously burnt and cold-on-the-inside vegan hot dogs a couple times. But eating them outside made upΒ for my inadequate cooking skills.

What are some of your go-to camping meals? We’re going camping again next month, so I’d love some ideas!

 

Happy camping,

Spencer

4 thoughts on “Vegan Camping Food

  1. Yum, I love a good vegan hot dog! I went camping with friend for July 4 weekend, and we made fried rice & veggies, mushroom tacos, and curry noodle soup (all vegan, of course!). I prepared some ingredients at home to heat up, and I have a small single burner stove, which helps ($20 from Walmart or Target – highly recommend it). With a little bit of planning, it all came together really well, and we were even able to make sandwiches for lunch each day with the leftovers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That sounds great! I would love a camping stove. Not growing up very outdoorsy, I’m definitely still a beginner when it comes to cooking while camping. In fact, I’m still a beginner when it comes to cooking while not camping (haha). Thanks for the tips!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

