Minimalist Travel Makeup Bag

IMG_5830.jpg

Sean and I went on a 10 day trip recently to visit our families in Rhode Island and Chicago. It was a lot of fun! I love doing my makeup, so (even as a wannabe minimalist), I like to bring makeup with me when I travel. 

IMG_5817.jpg

I realize now that I brought more makeup than I used on the trip. I felt comfortable with bringing a little extra, to see what I actual use on a trip like this, without feeling deprived or like I wish I had something with me on my trip that I left at home.

I brought (all cruelty free):

2 eyeshadow palettes (Anastasia Modern Renaissance and Naked 2 Basics)

eyeshadow primer (Urban Decay Primer Potion)

face powder (Wet n Wild Photo Focus Pressed Powder)

blush (Wet n Wild Color Icon)

mascara (Wet n Wild Max Volume)

eyeliner (Wet n Wild MegaLast)

liquid lipstick (Stila Stay All Day)

3 concealers (UD Naked Skin Concealer, elf Undereye Conceal, Wet n Wild Megaglo)

IMG_5820.jpg

I did not use the blush, eyeliner, liquid lipstick, or the large powder brush. On future trips, I think I’d exclude these items from my makeup bag. I never really wear lipstick anymore, only lip balm. As far as concealer, two of them are almost empty and they’re all kind of the wrong shade for me, so I mix them together to make it work. In the future, I’d like to just have one that fits my skin tone.

IMG_5822.jpg

I brought 7 makeup brushes, and used 6 of them pretty much every day. I don’t even know where these are from. They’re just synthetic brushes that I’ve had forever.

IMG_5832.jpg

My makeup bag is from Betsey Johnson, and I got it as Marshall’s 6 years ago. Now that my makeup collection is much smaller, I could do with a smaller makeup bag, but I’m fine with using what I have for now because it isn’t worn at all, even after all these years.

What makeup do you bring on vacation with you? Do you like to go minimal with it, or still bring lots of options?

 

Until next time,

Spencer

2 thoughts on “Minimalist Travel Makeup Bag

  1. Stila is not cruelty free!!!!! If you need a good liquid lipstick, try something from NYX or ELF–they’ve both got incredible versions that no bunnies were hurt for 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s weird! I saw on their website they were (https://www.stilacosmetics.com/pages/faqs). It says “We do not test ingredients or products on animals. Stila is fully PETA compliant.” It does seem like a brand that is hard to get a lot of information on though, and I don’t think the little cruelty free bunny is on the packaging. Do you have a good source you use for checking if brands test on animals? NYX and elf are both great!

      Like

Leave a Reply

