Day Trip: El Matador State Beach

IMG_5325.jpg

My father-in-law was in town recently, and we decided to try a beach day (again). The last time Sean and I wanted to spend a day at the beach, it was so foggy and chilly on the coast that there was no sunning to be had. This time, the weather was lovely, and we had a lot of fun exploring El Matador State Beach in Malibu, known for its interesting rocky landscape and sea caves.

IMG_5271.jpg

The first thing I saw entering the beach area from the parking lot were all of these pretty yellow flowers. I love wild flowers.

IMG_5287.jpg

We drove up into the mountains a little bit to get to the entrance, and then once we arrived, we had to climb down lots of stairs.

IMG_5341.jpg

It wasn’t very crowded. I think it’s too early to be true beach season, although it’s hard to know because it almost always feels like beach weather in Southern California.

IMG_5281.jpg

Here’s me with Sean and his dad. As soon as this little boy saw me taking pictures with my phone, he asked if I wanted him to take a picture of the three of us. It was very sweet.

IMG_5330.jpg

This is what some of the sea caves look like. There were a lot of people trying to have photo shoots in there. I can’t imagine the lighting situation is optimal, but it’s a really cool spot.

IMG_5338.jpg

We walked a while down the beach and came to some of the super fancy beach-side houses you see in movies that take place in LA. I must say, the idea of having the whole Pacific Ocean in your backyard does sound like a nice life.

IMG_5307.jpg

Sean and I hope to spend some more time at some of the beaches around here in the spring and summer.

Does anyone have Southern California beach recommendations?

 

Love and sunshine,

Spencer

2 thoughts on “Day Trip: El Matador State Beach

Leave a Reply

