five favorites: March 2017

IMG_4633.jpg

1 MY REUSABLE CUP

I don’t know if you can tell, but I’ve been all about minimalism and simplifying my life lately. I’m a barista, so I tend to drink a lot of drinks every day, and I finally got myself this reusable cup to cut down the number of cups I use. It’s really easy to clean, and I end up drinking a lot more water, too.

IMG_5228.jpg

2 MAKING THE BED

This is such a revelation. I don’t know if it will stick, but I’ve been making my bed almost every day lately. I literally never did that in my entire life. I’ve probably made a bed 10 times total before this past month. I think having a minimalist attitude is affecting me in a lot of unexpected ways. The idea of cherishing your belongings and taking good care of them instead of replacing them or purchasing duplicates has prompted me to do things like make the bed every morning and do the dishes before bed every night. I’m not even stressed about it. It just feels good to do a little tidying every day now. (That’s Leo and Babo, being goofballs and ruining the nicely made bed).

IMG_5448.jpg

3 DECLUTTERING

As I’ve mentioned before, Sean and I haven’t accumulated that much stuff in general. We live in a small space, and we’ve only been here for about 7 months, so the clutter situation is nothing like what might build up in a big house you’ve lived in for 15 years. Influenced by all my research on minimalism, I decided to stop the problem of purposeless clutter before it gets out of hand in the first place. I realized this past month that we did still have a lot of stuff in our home that we never used or didn’t love. Most of the things we got rid of or donated were mine, but Sean was able to come up with a couple pairs of shoes and several clothing items he no longer used. It feels really good to have fewer things to keep track of now.

IMG_5357.jpg

4 MY SLIPPERS

Sean got me these Haflinger slippers for Chanukah/Christmas, and I love them so much! Walking around on cold tile floors in the morning is such an unpleasant feeling, and it is so easily fixed by wearing slippers. I guess that’s what they’re for. Somehow, I’ve gone years without having slippers, and now I pretty much never walk around barefoot in the house. I work on my feet all day, so it feels great to come home and change right out of my work shoes and into my slippers. In reviews of these slippers, people say they last for many years, which is definitely what I’m looking for in the things I own. These don’t get too hot or clammy, and they’re comfortable with or without socks.

IMG_5150.jpg

5 BANANA ICE CREAM

I’ve started eating a plant-based diet again recently which has brought me back to one of my loves, banana “ice cream.” It’s not really ice cream. You literally just put frozen bananas in a blender or food processor with a little non-dairy milk, and the result is exactly the same consistency as soft-serve ice cream. I eat this for breakfast a lot, mixed with cocoa powder, peanut butter, and almond milk. It is so delicious.

What are some of your favorite things from this month?

Warm wishes,

Spencer

Leave a Reply

