Recipe: Homemade Sandwich Rolls

DSC03478.jpg

Dear reader,

I successfully made bread for the first time ever in my life! Who’s proud of me?! Anyone?

DSC03442.jpg

I’ve been all about minimalism and conscious living lately, and I had a realization about grocery shopping and the fact that someone makes things like sandwich rolls, and then charges me more for them than it cost them to make. Also, who wants to eat food with “2% or less of: a million preservatives and other things I’d have to Google to know what they are”?

So anyway, now I never want to buy bread again. It’s so inexpensive and cozy to make at home! Also, this recipe is vegan and uses very few ingredients.

DSC03446.jpg

I adapted this recipe from The Healthy Family and Home’s vegan hamburger buns recipe. First, you make this little ball of dough. The recipe says to use a dough hook on an electric stand mixer, but I don’t have one, so I kneaded it with my hands for 10 minutes. I now have the forearms of Popeye the Sailor Man.

DSC03450.jpg

Then you let the dough rise for an hour and it gets twice the size, like this.

DSC03453.jpgDSC03455.jpg

You separate the dough into eight small balls and let those rise for another half an hour or so, until then get bigger again.

DSC03457.jpg

Then you bake them and they get all toasty golden brown.

DSC03458.jpg

Check out my homemade bread!

DSC03464.jpg

Then I had a veggie burger with the works. A great day was had by all!

DSC03470.jpg

I plan to experiment with lots more bread, now that I’m not scared of making my own anymore. Three cheers for overcoming cooking fears!


 

1 tbs active dry yeast (or 1 packet)

1/2 c warm water

1/2 c unsweetened almond milk

2 tbs vegetable oil

2 tbs sugar

1 tsp sea salt

1 tbs ground flax seeds dissolved in 3 tbs water for 10 min.

3 c whole wheat flour

melted vegan butter or oil for brushing over the tops


Stir together yeast and warm water and let sit until dissolved (it started bubbling a little and the water changed to a more opaque color). In a separate bowl, combine almond milk, oil, sugar, salt, and flax “egg”. Stir together and then add to the yeast mixture and stir until well-combined. Add in flour and stir until a shaggy dough is formed.

Knead for 1o minutes, and form into a small, smooth ball. Let rise for about an hour, until doubled in size. Divide into eight parts and form each until a small ball. Set on baking sheet and let rise again, for 30-40 minutes, until they appear to be the size of an actual sandwich roll.

Brush the tops of the rolls with melted vegan butter. Bake at 375 (F) for about fifteen minutes, until golden brown.

 

Until next time,

Spencer

One thought on “Recipe: Homemade Sandwich Rolls

Leave a Reply

