Recipe: Vegan Lentil and Mushroom Tomato Sauce with Pasta

DSC03325.jpg

Can I first just say, how cute are rotini? Just little curlicues that you can eat. I’ve decided they’re my favorite pasta shape. (I reserve the right to change my mind if I come across anything cuter). Secondly, I love how this recipe came out. It made so much that I’ve eaten it for at least 6 meals and I’m still not sick of it. This recipe was adapted from a recipe from Foxes Love Lemons for lentil-mushroom ragu.

DSC03310.jpg

I didn’t have enough/any of a lot of the ingredients, so I made my own version. Her recipe calls for 2 cups of lentils, but I only had a scant half cup. In the future, I would make this recipe with more lentils because it would make it more filling, but I still loved it as is!

DSC03314.jpg

Vegetables are so pretty. I don’t even really like carrots, but now I just throw them willy nilly into anything that simmers on the stove for a half hour, and then they just get mushy and take on the flavor of whatever the dish is. I’ve cracked the carrot code. (You’re welcome).

DSC03319.jpg

After all the chopping up of stuff, this recipe is really easy. Unlike my chickpea salad recipe, this one keeps very well in the fridge. I would definitely make this for guests. Or just for myself a bunch more times.

DSC03323.jpg

2 tbs olive oil

1 12-oz container of mushrooms, sliced

1/2 a medium white onion, chopped

1 carrot, peeled and chopped

1/2 a red bell pepper, chopped

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 tomato, chopped

1/2 c lentils

28 oz can diced tomatoes

2 c water

1 bay leaf

2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp salt

pepper to taste

1 box pasta (I used my favorite, rotini)


Once you’ve finished all that chopping, heat the olive oil in a big pot over medium heat. Add mushrooms, onion, carrot, red pepper, and garlic. Cook, stirring frequently, for 15-20 minutes, until very soft and brown and fragrant. Then, stir in everything else (except the pasta). Heat until boiling, then lower heat and simmer for 25 minutes. Cook pasta according to the box and serve hot with nutritional yeast or parmesan cheese or just plain and delicious.

 

Love and lentils,

Spencer

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Vegan Lentil and Mushroom Tomato Sauce with Pasta

Leave a Reply

