My Minimalist Makeup Collection (Updated + Cruelty-Free)

DSC03295.jpg

If you’re someone who doesn’t really like or wear makeup, then my collection of makeup probably seems excessive, but for me, right now, it feels just right. I really love using all the makeup that I have. The collection has changed a lot since my first makeup collection post. Having fewer items, I tend to use things up and replace them more often than someone with a larger collection.

I developed my love for makeup early in high school when I discovered the YouTube community of makeup tutorial channels. Beginning then, I went through a period of buying and owning much more makeup than I needed or could use. The Internet and magazines tend to promote constant consumerism instead of balance when it comes to frivolous items like makeup products. Being immersed in that culture, it was hard for me to find some perspective and realize that, for my life, I don’t need to own things I won’t use very regularly. DSC03302.jpg

I keep all my makeup in this Betsy Johnson makeup bag I got at Marshall’s 4 or 5 years ago. It’s held up really well, and it fits everything roomily. My makeup brushes are all from a synthetic brush set I also bought somewhere like Marshall’s or TJ Maxx. I think my little mug is from Target. I used to keep coffee beans or rice in it so the brushes could stand up, but I always knock things over, so I figure they’re fine on their own, and my floor is coffee bean free.

DSC03298.jpg

Here are all the makeup products I own right now:

  1. Urban Decay NAKED2 Basics Eyeshadow Palette
  2. Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Eyeshadow Palette
  3. Wet n Wild Color Icon Eyeshadow Palette in Petal Pusher
  4. Wet n Wild Color Icon Eyeshadow Trio in Walking on Eggshells
  5. e.l.f. Eyebrow Kit in Light
  6. Wet n Wild Color Icon Blush in Rosé Champagne
  7. NYX Butter Gloss in Créme Brulee
  8. NYX Butter Gloss in Red Wine Truffle
  9. Urban Decay Primer Potion in Anti-Aging
  10. Wet n Wild Coverall Cream Foundation in Fair/Light
  11. Wet n Wild Mattifying Powder
  12. Wet n Wild MegaLength Mascara
  13. Wet n Wild MegaLast Retractable Eyeliner
  14. Urban Decay NAKED SKIN Concealer in Light (travel size)
  15. e.l.f. Under Eye Concealer in Fair
  16. Anastasia Beverly Hills Lip Gloss in Black Cherry

DSC03282.jpg

It’s really interesting to me how much my mindset has changed about makeup. In the grand scheme of things, makeup is just a small fun part of my life, not anything life-changing. The important thing, though, is what I’ve learned from my change in mindset. I used to always have some new makeup product in my sights that I wanted to buy. I particularly thought that high-end or expensive makeup would make my face look so much better. While (in my experience) more expensive makeup usually is better in quality, I’ve realized that it doesn’t really matter for my lifestyle. Most of my makeup products are under $6 (with the obvious exception of my beautiful Anastasia eye shadow palette), and they work great for my needs. I feel put together for a night out, and I don’t think anyone else would ever know if my eyeliner was $2 or $20.

One last thing I want to say is that it is totally fine to own and buy tons of makeup or to own no makeup at all. The point of this whole thing is not how much stuff I have or don’t have, but how I feel about it. Makeup can be a really good starting point to incorporate a minimalist mindset into your life because it’s not a huge deal (unless it’s part of your job). It’s like a small subset of your larger view on consumerism and balance. After down-sizing my makeup collection, I’ve been able to view things like my wardrobe and my books and even sentimental items differently. More on that later. I hope this has helped someone who’s figuring this whole balance thing out!

 

Warm wishes and sparkly eyeshadow,

Spencer

2 thoughts on “My Minimalist Makeup Collection (Updated + Cruelty-Free)

Leave a Reply

