FAMILY RECIPE #1: Mushroom Asparagus Frittata

DSC03163.jpg

The first recipe I’ve made in my Family Cookbook project is Karen and Donna’s mushroom asparagus frittata. Karen and Donna are my first cousins, once removed. I figured I should let you know how I’m related to all of these family members, since my family and I are really into family trees. This recipe came out really well, and was especially a hit with my husband! He claims to not like eggs, so that’s really saying something.

DSC03145.jpg

I’ve never made a frittata before. Honestly, I didn’t entirely know for sure what a frittata was before making this recipe. I don’t think I would have tried making something like this without this cookbook project I’m working on, and that’s exactly what the project is for.

DSC03148.jpg

Basically, you just chop up some vegetables and cook them in some olive oil and then pour a mixture of eggs and feta cheese over the top and stick the whole thing in the oven.

DSC03162.jpg

It’s like a quiche, but with no crust. We had it for dinner, with some crusty bread, but it would work well for breakfast or brunch too. We refrigerated the leftovers and reheated them in the microwave the next day, and the frittata kept very well. Thanks Donna and Karen for the great recipe!

DSC03146.jpg

 

Until next time,

Spencer

One thought on “FAMILY RECIPE #1: Mushroom Asparagus Frittata

Leave a Reply

