Recipe: Pumpkin Spice Stuffed French Toast

DSC02959.jpg

Happy fall everyone!! Despite the 100 degree weather outside, I am definitely getting in the fall spirit. Prepare yourself for lots of pumpkin spice recipes because I am in full festive mode. Sean and I had a leisurely morning and I decided to make the fall breakfast of my dreams: pumpkin spice stuffed French toast, you guys. Hold for applause.

DSC02910.jpg

I made up this recipe, and I must say, it turned out great. It even passed the (slightly) picky eater husband test.

DSC02915.jpg

I soaked whole grain bread in an egg batter that I mixed canned pumpkin and spices into, to give this meal the perfect autumn orange color.

DSC02925 (1).jpg

Then I cooked it in salted butter until a glowing, golden brown.

DSC02928.jpg

The whole house smelled like cinnamon.

DSC02932.jpg

I wanted to balance the pumpkin flavor of the French toast with a vanilla spice cream cheese filling. I made it kind of like cream cheese icing, and it came out tasting like what fairies and unicorns probably eat at their tea parties.

DSC02941.jpg

If you have some sliced bread to use up, you should totally make this for breakfast. Your husband will love you for it. I’m sure he loves you already though, because he’s your husband, and because you’re a lovely person.


Makes 2 servings

For the French toast:

3 eggs

1/4 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

a few shakes of nutmeg

4 slices of bread (I used some sort of multigrain)

butter for coating the pan

 

For the pumpkin spice filling:

3 tablespoons salted butter

3 ounces cream cheese

3/4 cup powdered sugar + extra for dusting

splash of vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon allspice (add more of the spices to taste)

 

Combine all French toast ingredients in a medium-sized bowl, and soak bread in it, one piece at a time, before placing in a pan coated with salted butter, over medium heat. Cook each side for 2-3 minutes, or until golden brown.

For the filling, cream together the butter and cream cheese, then stir in all the other ingredients. Spread a thick layer on two of the French toast slices to make two sandwiches. Sprinkle with powdered sugar, and serve with maple syrup and a smile.

 

Warm autumn wishes,

Spencer

 

Leave a Reply

