Recipe: Mexican Hot Chocolate Biscotti

DSC02880.jpg

Lately, I’ve been loving the assorted sampler pack of K-Cups my sister got me for my birthday. With all the coffee I’ve been drinking, I found myself thinking, “I want a biscotti.” As the craving grew in intensity, I remembered that just because you usually buy something already made at the grocery store doesn’t mean you can’t make it yourself. Which brings me to my current state of joy as I munch on homemade cinnamon-cocoa-wonderful flavored biscotti.

DSC02844.jpg

I knew I wanted a cinnamon-sugar dusted breakfast treat, but with a bit more zing than just vanilla.

DSC02850.jpg

This recipe was surprisingly easy. ย I adapted it from Jennifer Segal’s Double Chocolate Biscotti recipe, but didn’t do the “double” part, and added my cinnamon sugar magic.

DSC02851.jpg

To make biscotti in general, you basically make a kneaded dough and form it into two flat logs which you bake until nearly done, but then remove from the oven, cut into slices, and bake again until crispy.

DSC02856.jpgDSC02858.jpgDSC02859.jpg

These ended up just like biscotti you would buy at a bakery. Better, I think, because they had love in them, and cinnamon-sugar on top, just like all the best things in the world.

DSC02864.jpg

For the cocoa biscotti:

scant 2 cups flour

scant 1/2 cup cocoa powder

3 teaspoons baking powder

sprinkle of salt

1 stick salted butter (I always bake with salted butter)

scant 1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

For the cinnamon-sugar topping:

2 tablespoonsย sugar

1 tablespoon cinnamon


Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, and then stir in vanilla. Combine dry ingredients in separate bowl, and then mix gradually into wet ingredients. Knead until less sticky on a floured counter, and separate into two parts. Form into two logs and flatten on a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake at 350 (F) for about 35 minutes. Then, remove from oven and slice into diagonal slices. Lay on side on baking sheet, sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar mixture, and bake for another 10 minutes, until crispy.

 

Until next time,

Spencer

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Mexican Hot Chocolate Biscotti

Leave a Reply

