Recipe: Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

DSC02817.jpg

It’s September, and that means fall is coming. I work at a café, and we’re getting like 10 new pumpkin flavored foods and drinks in the next week or so. That didn’t stop me, though, from going out and buying some pumpkin of my own, and turning it into something that makes the house smell great. 

DSC02797.jpg

I adapted this recipe based on a bunch of recipes I looked at, and based (more importantly) on what ingredients we had in the house.

DSC02799.jpg

I like a spicy pumpkin bread, but I only had cinnamon and nutmeg. When I first took this out of the oven and tried it warm, I thought the texture was great, but the flavor was lacking because I didn’t use cloves or allspice. After we refrigerated it, though, it tasted much better. I actually prefer it cold.

DSC02802.jpg

I had some milk chocolate chips leftover from some other baking, and I happen to think pumpkin and chocolate go together very well. Also, they look like Halloween.

DSC02806.jpg

What I used:

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup canola oil

4 eggs

15oz can pumpkin

3/4 cup water

3 cups flour (I used 2 cups whole wheat, 1 cup white)

2 tablespoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

a splash of vanilla

chocolate chips

What I should have also used because it wasn’t spicy enough:

1/2 teaspoon allspice

1/2 teaspoon cloves


Mix sugars, butter, and oil, then add eggs, one at a time. Add pumpkin and vanilla, followed by all the dry ingredients. Stir in chocolate chips, and bake at 350 (F) for about 30 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.

This would also work great in muffin form, but I was all muffined out after these banana muffins and these brownies in muffin form.

I would really recommend this recipe, but definitely add the other additional spices if you make it!

 

Love and vanilla,

Spencer

Leave a Reply

