My Minimalist Shoe Collection

DSC02706.jpg

I like not owning very many pairs of shoes. They don’t take up too much space, it saves time when choosing an outfit, and I get the satisfaction of wearing through pairs of shoes from using them a lot. I walked everywhere in college, and over my four years there, I wore holes through the bottoms of numerous pairs. It’s kind of like totally using up an eyeshadow palette. It only happens when you only have what you love and what you use all the time. 

I’ve had most of my shoes for several years, so if the ones I own are no longer made, I’ll link to similar shoes by the same brand as the ones I have.

DSC02719.jpg

I think I could be more fashionable and have more varied outfits if I bought more shoes, but I also think I can be fashionable enough with what I have. These are my three pairs of sandals. The first are flip flops from Target, the second are lace-up gladiator sandals from Steve Madden, and the third have a bit of a heel and are by Tahari (here’s a similar pair). They each have a perfect purpose. The flip flops are for walking my dog, going to the beach, and running errands. The gladiator sandals are for looking nice but having to do some walking, and the heeled sandals are for looking nice and not having to walk much. None of them are appropriate for work (no open-toed shoes, blah blah blah)

DSC02716.jpg

Which leads me to my next couple of pairs, my boots/work shoes. On the left are a pair of hand-me-down lace-up boots from my sister (here’s a similar pair). On the right are my new Target booties. I’ve had them for a few weeks and they’re already all scuffed, so I don’t recommend buying this specific pair, but I love the style and they’re pretty comfortable. These are the only two pairs of shoes I have that I can wear to work. I work at a restaurant and a café.

DSC02712.jpg

These are my activity-related shoes. On the left are my Nike running shoes (similar pair), and on the right are my Keen hiking boots (similar pair).

DSC02714.jpg

Now onto the shoes I hardly wear. On the left are the Betsy Johnson flats I wore to my wedding. On the right are some strappy heels (here’s a similar pair) that I literally wore to the homecoming dance, freshman year of high school. I’m 23 now, so it’s been a while. They still fit, though, so I decided to keep them for weddings and things.

DSC02724.jpg

And lastly, one of the main possessions of mine that break my rule about only owning things you use all the time. They are my Jeffrey Campbell Lita boots. I bought them in high school when I was going through a serious “edgy” phase. They have a five inch heel and are totally impractical, but they hold such a special place in my heart from the coming-of-age time in my life that I just can’t get rid of them. Hopefully I can find some times to wear them now.

I really enjoy my 10 pair shoe collection. When I wear through a pair, I feel good about buying a new one because I know I’ll get a lot of use out of basically all my shoes with this system. How many pairs of shoes do you have?

 

Minimalist love,

Spencer

3 thoughts on “My Minimalist Shoe Collection

Leave a Reply

