Winged Eyeliner and Red Lips: Cruelty-Free Makeup Tutorial for the Glamorous Minimalist

IMG_3198.jpg

In this previous post, I discussed how I went from a bit of a makeup buying junkie to a makeup minimalist. I’ve decided to start a series of makeup tutorials with my minimal (by my standards) collection of makeup products. 

This glamorous cat-eye and red lip makeup tutorial uses just 9 products (all cruelty-free) and is pretty easy and pretty quick.

Here are all the products I used:

IMG_3187.jpg

Here I am with just moisturizer on. I’ve been using sunscreen as my daytime moisturizer because I live in California now and it’s sunny and also it’s just supposed to be a good practice:

IMG_3137.jpg

Step 1: I used just a little of my Wet n Wild CoverAll Créme Foundation. I don’t use enough to cover my whole face like a mask. I like to blend it out from the inside of my face with my fingers to make sure I never have a foundation line along my jaw or on my neck:

IMG_3140.jpg

Step 2: I set my face with NYX Blotting Powder using a big, fluffy face brush:

IMG_3142.jpg

Step 3: I applied my e.l.f. Sunkissed Glow Bronzer with a face contour brush that I have, but I don’t do any kind of crazy contouring. I just brush it below my cheekbones, on my forehead near my hairline, on the sides of my nose, and a little along my jawline:

IMG_3146.jpg

Step 4: I applied my Urban Decay Primer Potion to my eyelids (I bought a travel size at Sephora because it’s half the price of the full size, and I feel like it takes forever to use it up, but it’s really good). Then I brushed on my Wet n Wild Single Eyeshadow in Brulee all over my eyelids, all the way up to my eyebrow, and some on my inner corner. (It’s literally 99 cents and it’s so good. You don’t need to buy expensive eyeshadow if you don’t want to.) I think this step allows the rest of the eyeshadows to go on more smoothly:

IMG_3147.jpg

Step 5: For the rest of the eyeshadow, I used shades from my Wet n Wild Color Icon Palette in Comfort Zone. In the past, I have used up most of an Urban Decay Naked Palette (also great) and I think the quality of Wet n Wild eyeshadows in the Comfort Zone palette is pretty much identical as Urban Decay, and for 1/10 of the price. I started by blending the medium brown shade into the crease of my eyelid with a fluffy eye brush:

IMG_3150.jpg

Step 6: Every time I put a color down on my eye, I use a clean fluffy eye brush to blend it out, for the least amateur looking eyeshadow I can muster (which sometimes still looks amateurish, and that’s okay!). Then, I packed the orangey gold shade onto my eyelids beneath the crease color, using a flat eye brush:

IMG_3153.jpg

Step 7: Lastly, on the eyes, I took a small pencil brush and ran the white shimmery color along the inner corner of my eyes. It gives a really bright, wide-awake look, and I do this to my eyeshadow almost every day:

IMG_3157.jpg

Step 8: I know this is crazy, but I fill in my eyebrows with the same medium brown shade in the palette that I used for my crease color. It’s shimmery on the eyelid, but I feel like you can’t tell when it’s in my eyebrows. If you can tell, then I hope I start some sort of trend with shimmer eyebrows. I just use a short angled brush which has a spoolie on the other end to brush through my eyebrows after I apply the color:

IMG_3160.jpg

Step 9: I used my Kat von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper (black) to do winged eyeliner that I intended to make subtle, but I’m not a super pro at it, so it tends to get more dramatic as I mess up while I’m doing it. I really like how it came out, though, and with confidence, you can make accidentally-super-dramatic eyeliner look cool AND intentional:

IMG_3163.jpg

Step 10: For lips, I used a lipgloss I bought for my wedding, that is SO GOOD. The photo doesn’t do it justice. It’s NYX Butter Gloss in Red Wine Truffle and it is the most pigmented and comfortably wearing lip gloss I’ve ever tried. It’s $5 and it smells like cupcakes. What are you even waiting for? Oh yeah, you’re a minimalist…

Anyway! Here’s the finished look:

IMG_3166.jpg

Pretty cute huh? You might even want to intend on making your makeup as dramatic as this from the start! Wear it to work! Wear it to your local coffee shop and show it off to the cute barista like you’re a lead in a romantic comedy after the video montage of her getting her life in order! Wear it to “Decade Day” at your high school during spirit week when you’re going for “50s or 60s ish”!

Okay that’s all the sillies I’ve got. I hope you like it!

 

Love and lipgloss,

Spencer

 

Leave a Reply

