Our Honeymoon Road Trip (Day 12 + 13 Grand Canyon!)

IMG_2878

We’re having so much fun in the Grand Canyon! We drove here right after our kayaking excursion and it was a 2.5 hour drive from Page, AZ.

IMG_2873

We woke up bright and early this morning to leave the hotel by 6 AM. In the Grand Canyon, the rangers stress trying to keep hikes to before 10 AM or after 4 PM because it gets hot hot hot in the afternoons.

IMG_2881

We spent the early morning hiking the Bright Angel Trail. When we talked about hiking at the Grand Canyon before we left for this trip, I always figured we were going to be hiking around the top of it. I’m fairly new to being outdoorsy, so I’m always learning. When I found out we were going to be hiking DOWN INTO THE CANYON I panicked just a LITTLE. I mean, that’s one big canyon. And I have one big fear of heights. I can’t even climb an indoor rock wall without panicking.

I was pretty sure I couldn’t do it, but Sean said we could hike just the very beginning and if I was too scared at any point, no matter what, we could turn around. He’s very supportive, and he said it’s okay to be scared, but I shouldn’t let the scary ideas that I make up in my imagination keep me from doing something that in real life isn’t as scary.

IMG_2899

Well, he was right, because it was only a little scary and a whole lot fun! That’s a picture of me after we hiked 1.5 miles down into the canyon to a resting point. I was really proud of myself. I think we were about 670 feet below the top of the canyon.

IMG_2902

The hike up was way more exhausting than the hike down. Maybe that’s obvious, but it was the longest I’ve ever walked at a fairly steep incline. They say it takes twice as long to make it up as it does to go down. It took us about two and a half hours to complete our full three mile hike, with several water and trail mix stops.

IMG_2907

There were mule tours on the trail, but I think that would have been a lot scarier than just walking. A lot smellier too.

IMG_2887

We saw plenty of wildlife on our hike. Mostly it was these super cute chubby squirrels. Lots of chipmunks too, scurrying up the side of the canyon. We also saw several mule deer. None of the animals seemed scared of humans, so they got surprisingly close to us.

 

IMG_2870

We’re here for one more night and then driving to Los Angeles, where we’re moving (!!). The adventure continues.

 

Until next time,

Spencer

 

3 thoughts on “Our Honeymoon Road Trip (Day 12 + 13 Grand Canyon!)

Leave a Reply

